School Alerts


The Special Educational Needs and Disability (SEND) Code of Practice: for 0 – 25 years (2015): states that:
A child or young person has SEND if they have a learning difficulty or disability which calls for special educational provision to be made for them. A child of compulsory school age or a young person has a learning difficulty or disability if they:
a) have a significantly greater difficulty in learning than the majority of others of the same age; or
b) have a disability which prevents or hinders them from making use of educational facilities of a kind generally provided for others of the same age in mainstream schools or mainstream post-16 institutions


At the Hatfield Academy we believe that:
• all children should be valued regardless of their abilities or difficulties
• all children are entitled to a broad and balanced curriculum which is differentiated to meet individual needs
• all teachers are teachers of children with SEND
• all children can be enabled to fulfil their potential through effective teaching and learning, supporting and encouraging
• effective assessment and provision for children with SEND will be secured with partnership with parents/carers, children, the Local Education Authority and any relevant outside agencies

The SEND section of this website contains information about SEND. If you have any further queries please arrange a meeting with the school SENCO

Hatfield Academy Documentation


Please click here to view the Inclusion Policy.

Please click here to view Hatfield SEND information.

doc_iconAccessibility Plan

SEN Areas of Need

The 2014 SEND Code of Practice outlines four areas of special educational need that include a range of difficulties and conditions:

  1. Communication and Interaction
  • Speech, Language and Communication Needs (SLCN)
  • Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD)
  • Asperger’s
  1. Cognition and Learning
  • Moderate Learning Difficulties (MLD)
  • Specific Learning Difficulties (SpLD) – dyslexia, dyscalculia, dyspraxia (developmental co-ordination disorder)
  • Severe Learning Difficulties (SLD)
  • Profound and Multiple Learning Difficulties (PMLD)
  1. Social, Emotional and Mental Health
  2. Sensory and/or Physical
  • Visually Impaired (VI)
  • Hearing Impaired (HI)
  • Multi-sensory Impairment (MSI)
  • Physical difficulties (PD)


Further information


Communication and Language:




Translate Language »